Wednesday, February 26, 2003
 
*laughs* ..there was a fic where they teased Bono by callng him "Bobo"..don't remember which one it was, tho. *g*

So..Today show. ^_^
They did a short interview with Bono and Edge, maybe 5-10 minutes..which was just cool. They talked about U2 being up for an Oscar..Bono said winning'd be a little like sneaking into someone's house and stealing all their furniture..Hollywood's not really their home, y'know? *g* He also said that it'd better be Scorscese's night, tho, cos they know where the Academy parks their cars... *hehe* The interviewer was listing off the crazy variety of types of songs that're up, asking about that.. and Edge went into a rather intelligent bit about how he felt it's more of how the song fits with the movie, and how they meld together and stuff. ^_^ Bono said Scorscese asked them to write a song that started in the 1800s and ended in 2000..and they were just like, uh-huh, sure, yeah, we'll do that... *laughs*
The interviewer mentioned the Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame, pointed out that U2'll be inducted soon... and Bono and Edge were like, no, no, don't mention that! Edge said they felt way too young for it, since they were so young when the started... "We should be ten years older than we are.." Then Bono gestures to Edge. "Edge was fifteen when we started. He was fifteen, and I was sixteen. I'm bigger than he is!" and he looked over at Edge and they smiled and laughed. *squee!* cuteness. ^_^
Last-minute, the interviewer asked Bono what he'd thought of Bush saying in the State of the Union address about giving 15 billion (or was it million?) towards Africa... "I was jumping up and down..!" :D YAY! So was I!!!!! *laughs, grinning* And then Bono was all sweet and humble and stuff when the guy went on about all B'd done, Bono passed credit on to the people at the Today show, even, for doing that bit awhile ago, helping spread word.. *smiles*
He was wearing the maroon shades, btw. *g*

Then Bono and Edge did "Hands"...and I dunno. It was a little odd, cos you've got Bono singing (and Edge singing a *tiny* bit of very soft back-up) and Edge on acoustic...and - I kid you not - a small portable stereo on a chair behind them. with a tape or cd or something in it, that played the rest of the music to the song. I was rather confused. I mean, it was ok and all, just...odd. Where were Adam and Lar, if they were gonna go all-out on the song??? *frowns*
..what was really strange, was where it went into the Bono-opera-star bit in the middle..and the recording had that vocal on it, *and* B sang along. *smiles* It was really cool to see and hear, tho..cos that's really him singing it..just..*really* singing, as opposed to rock-star-singing. Very cool. ^_^ (And I caught the word "amore" in there, tho I couldn't make out anything else..)

Bono's *definitely* going scruffily. O_O;;;;;;;;;; ..I'm hoping someone talks him out of it before it gets any worse. It's...bearable...right now. But any more, and--! It's like the ransom-note someone sent him and they re-printed in Propaganda once - "Bono: cut the hair or you will never see the harmonica again!" *mad giggles* ..let's steal the shades. ^~______~^

~Ananda

 
Yeah, Coldplay rocks--"Clocks" is one of my favorite songs, it's so cool...

"And by the way, I'm sick of Bono — and I am Bono." Aughhh! That's so funny!

I love Bono. *g* (Typed "Bobo" first by accident. Jeesh, like one of those clown dolls. ::shudders::) I'll have to get me an October-Bono relatively soon, before somebody nabs him...

-Laurel

 
For anyone who can catch it..
Bono and The Edge, on the Today show, 8am tomorrow. ^_^ (errr...today. ^^;;; )
"Hands That Built America" and another song.
I'll watch and take careful note of every detail for anyone who misses it. ^_^ (And my Mom'll prolly be taping it anyway.)


But dude, I was on u2.com today? lookit this! *laughing*
Bono, on the new album so far: "It's full-on, a full-throttle record. It's like punk rock made on Venus. It is a mad sound The Edge is making."
Which means there’s no chance of Bono departing the public eye any time soon.
"People are saying, 'Bono, people are sick of you. You've been around, you've been winning all these awards. You have to go away for a while.' This record is so good that it won't even matter that people are sick of U2. And by the way, I'm sick of Bono — and I am Bono."

More here on VH-1's site.
...
AHHHH!!!! At the MusiCares thing!??!?! Black Rebel Motorcycle Club did "Out of Control"!!!!!! *flips out and dies* ...someone NEEDS to leak mp3s--!!!!! *cries*

"Walk On" didn't win the Grammy...tho, it occured to me, ATYCLB came out two years ago, they're gonna release a whole new album *this* year..how was "Walk On" still up for something? *confused..but not complaining too much* Coldplay beat them out...Daf, did you *see* them on the Grammy's?!?!? Holy crap. I was blown away. I'm in love now, Coldplay's *amazing*! ^_^

~Ananda